History Recap

1769: Dartmouth College established.
1877: Rugby first played on the Dartmouth Green.
1880: Dartmouth Rugby Football Association established, evolves into American football beginning in early 1890s.  
1951: Rugby re-established on campus as the touring Dartmouth Rugby Football Club.
1954: Dartmouth alumnus Vince Jones ’52 earns his Varsity Blue with Oxford University. 
1958: Becomes the first American university to play in England, garnering substantial media coverage (including feature story in Sports Illustrated) as the men in Green went 5-1-1. 
1962:  First American university to play in Ireland, establishing a long match tradition with Trinity College in Dublin.
1969:  Ivy League rugby tournament established.
1985: Elite 8 finalist in National Championship.
1986 and 1988: National Champion Runner-Up.
1987: National Semi-Finalist.
2005:  Corey Ford Rugby Clubhouse dedicated, becoming preeminent facility in the US.
2008: Dartmouth wins historic 12th Ivy Championship, the most of any Ivy team.
2009: Dartmouth’s Alex Magleby named head coach of the US Collegiate All-Americans.
2011: Dartmouth wins USA Sevens College Rugby Championships, televised live on NBC.
2012: Dartmouth wins USA Sevens College Rugby Championships, televised live on NBC.
2012: Dartmouth’s Alex Magleby ’00 named head coach of the US National Sevens team.
2013: Dartmouth hires former Leicester Tigers, Leinster, Ireland A, and Ireland 7s player, Gavin Hickie, as head coach. 
2013: Dartmouth alumnus Nate Brakeley ’11 earns his Varsity Blue with Cambridge University.
2014: Dartmouth’s Gavin Hickie named forwards coach of the Collegiate All-Americans.                                                                                                                 2014: Dartmouth captain, Madison Hughes ’15, scores 33 points in his international debut tournament for the US 7s team                                              2016: Dartmouth wins 10th consecutive Ivy League 15s Championship



The Dartmouth Rugby Football Club (or DRFC) was founded in 1951, and competes in the Ivy Rugby Conference against its traditional Ivy League rivals. 

The DRFC also plays in the Varsity Cup and the USA Sevens Collegiate Rugby Championships.

The Dartmouth rugby team comprises more than 60 students and often fields more than three sides on a given weekend during the fall term.

One of the strengths and strongest traditions of the two clubs are the Annual Tours, the first of which occurred in 1951 when the DRFC toured Bermuda. The former team was the first U.S. college rugby team to invade England (one English newspaper describing the event as "the nastiest upset since Bunker Hill"), and Sports Illustrated covered the 7-game tour in its January 19, 1959 issue. In 1962 DRFC toured in Ireland, and in 1964 the team toured both Germany and Scotland. Since 2000, the teams tours have included trips to England, Ireland, Italy, Spain, South Africa, Argentina, and Uruguay.

Dartmouth has enjoyed great success on the national stage. In 1965, the first XV was undefeated and was declared the unofficial national collegiate champion. More recently, since 1980 Dartmouth has twice reached the finals of the US national collegiate championship and has reached the semi-finals three times.

Dartmouth has been successful in national rugby sevens competitions. In 2011, Dartmouth defeated Army 32-10 for the men's championship in the Collegiate Rugby Championship in a match broadcast live on NBC from PPL Park in Philadelphia. Dartmouth repeated as champions in the 2012 Collegiate Rugby Championship, defeating Cal 21-19 in the semifinal and beating Arizona 24-5 in the final.

Dartmouth has also enjoyed success in Ivy League competitions. Dartmouth has won the Ivy League cup 21 times through 2018 since it was established in 1969, including 5 consecutive championships from 1998 to 2002 and 11 consecutive championships from 2007 to 2017.